On Monday, May 31, 2021, President Rodrigo Duterte has announced that the areas of Metro Manila, Bulacan, Rizal, Laguna, and Cavite or collectively known as “NCR Plus” will stay under General Community Quarantine (GCQ) status for the period from June 1 to June 15, 2021.

NCR Plus
Image credits to GMA News

The said decision to keep Metro Manila and surrounding provinces under GCQ was made after thorough analysis of experts of the Octa Research group and Metro Manila mayors.

For the period from June 1 to 15, at least fourteen (14) areas in the City of Iloilo and some parts of Zamboanga Peninsula have been placed under a tougher modified enhanced community quarantine (MECQ) status because of the significant increase of COVID-19 infections in the said areas.

Here are the quarantine classifications for different areas of the Philippines for the month of June:

GCQ with restrictions from June 1-15

  • Metro Manila
  • Rizal
  • Cavite
  • Laguna
  • Bulacan

GCQ from June 1-30

  • Baguio City
  • Kalinga
  • Abra
  • Mountain Province
  • Isabela
  • Nueva Vizcaya
  • Quirino
  • Batangas
  • Quezon
  • Iligan City
  • Davao City
  • Lanao del Sur
  • Cotabato City

MECQ from June 1-15

  • Santiago City
  • Cagayan
  • Apayao
  • Benguet
  • Ifugao
  • Puerto Princesa
  • Iloilo City
  • Cagayan de Oro City
  • Zamboanga City
  • Zamboanga Sibugay
  • Zamboanga del Sur
  • Zamboanga del Norte
  • Butuan City
  • Agusan del Sur

Meanwhile, the rest of the country is placed under modified general community quarantine (MGCQ) for the entire month of June. While the overall trend for COVID-19 cases in the Philippines is decreasing, the number of cases that reached the 5,000 mark has increased significantly in the last couple of months. The Department of Health (DOH) reiterates to the public the importance of following the health safety protocols.

What can you say about this latest quarantine announcement from the president? Drop your comments below.